J.R. Jones General Store (Just Before the Move to Greenfield Village), Original Site, Waterford, Michigan, 1926

Summary

James R. Jones was but one of nine different proprietors who operated a general store in this building between 1857 and 1927. August Jacober was the proprietor of the store when Henry Ford purchased the building in 1927. Ford offered to replace the wooden structure he purchased with a new brick structure, which can be seen in the background here.

James R. Jones was but one of nine different proprietors who operated a general store in this building between 1857 and 1927. August Jacober was the proprietor of the store when Henry Ford purchased the building in 1927. Ford offered to replace the wooden structure he purchased with a new brick structure, which can be seen in the background here.

Artifact

Photographic print

Subject Date

July 1926

 On Exhibit

By Request in the Benson Ford Research Center

Object ID

EI.1929.3114

Credit

From the Collections of The Henry Ford.

Material

Paper (Fiber product)
Linen (Material)

Technique

Gelatin silver process

Color

Black-and-white (Colors)

Dimensions

Height: 7.375 in

Width: 10.875 in

Inscriptions

front of image: 8-23-27 verso: Ray Dahlinger / July 1926

Connect 3

Discover curious connections between artifacts.

Learn More