Brick From Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Summary

When Carl Fisher and his partners opened Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 1909, the crushed stone and tar track surface quickly proved too dangerous. Fisher had the entire track resurfaced with 3.2 million paving bricks. The track was fully paved with asphalt by 1961, but a three-foot brick strip -- at the start/finish line -- remains, as does the speedway's nickname: the Brickyard.

When Carl Fisher and his partners opened Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 1909, the crushed stone and tar track surface quickly proved too dangerous. Fisher had the entire track resurfaced with 3.2 million paving bricks. The track was fully paved with asphalt by 1961, but a three-foot brick strip -- at the start/finish line -- remains, as does the speedway's nickname: the Brickyard.

Artifact

Paving brick

Date Made

circa 1909

Location

Not on exhibit to the public.

Object ID

2011.264.43

Credit

From the Collections of The Henry Ford. Gift of Lyn St. James.

Material

Brick (Clay product)

Color

Reddish brown

Dimensions

Height: 3.25 in

Width: 9.25 in

Length: 4 in

Inscriptions

Stamped into front: WC CO / CULVER BLOCK / PAT MAY 21 1901

Connect 3

Discover curious connections between artifacts.

Learn More