General Store and Clinton Inn (now Eagle Tavern) in Greenfield Village, August 1929

Summary

Henry Ford already owned four historic buildings destined for Greenfield Village by the time construction commenced in October 1927. Two of these--the Waterford General Store and the Clinton Inn--were re-erected around what would become the village green. This photograph shows the buildings nearly ready for the official dedication of Greenfield Village on October 21, 1929.

Henry Ford already owned four historic buildings destined for Greenfield Village by the time construction commenced in October 1927. Two of these--the Waterford General Store and the Clinton Inn--were re-erected around what would become the village green. This photograph shows the buildings nearly ready for the official dedication of Greenfield Village on October 21, 1929.

Material

Paper (Fiber product)

Technique

Gelatin silver process

Color

Black-and-white (Colors)

Connect 3

Discover curious connections between artifacts.

Learn More