Eagle Tavern at Its Original Site, Clinton, Michigan, circa 1905

Summary

Ella Smith's family owned Clinton, Michigan's Eagle Tavern--which they renamed Smith's Hotel--from 1868 to 1927. The hotel closed in the 1890s. When Ella posed for this photo about 1910, she still lived in the tavern, giving piano lessons and taking in boarders to earn a living. Henry Ford moved the building to Greenfield Village in the late 1920s.

Ella Smith's family owned Clinton, Michigan's Eagle Tavern--which they renamed Smith's Hotel--from 1868 to 1927. The hotel closed in the 1890s. When Ella posed for this photo about 1910, she still lived in the tavern, giving piano lessons and taking in boarders to earn a living. Henry Ford moved the building to Greenfield Village in the late 1920s.

Artifact

Photographic print

Subject Date

circa 1905

Creators

Unknown

 On Exhibit

By Request in the Benson Ford Research Center

Object ID

2004.0.14.13

Credit

From the Collections of The Henry Ford.

Material

Paper (Fiber product)

Technique

Gelatin silver process

Color

Black-and-white (Colors)

Dimensions

Height: 4.25 in

Width: 5.75 in

Eagle Tavern

Details
Connect 3

Discover curious connections between artifacts.

Learn More